You are here
Home > LATEST > Vendée Globe final forty confirmed

Vendée Globe final forty confirmed

Yacht Racing Podcast

The confirmed entry list for the 2020 edition of the Vendée Globe has been confirmed. This latest edition of the iconic, nonstop, unaided, singlehanded around the world race has generated unprecedented interest, prompting the organisers increase the number of places to 40 for the first time.

The race’s qualification rules had been heightened since 2020, with the sailors required to between 2022 and 2024 start two solo races and finish at least one of them in a time that does not exceed the winner’s time plus 50 per cent.

Forty four skippers applied for this 10th edition and at the end of the recent New York Vendée – Les Sables d’Olonne race – the final qualifier – 42 skippers had managed to qualify.

Nevertheless, the race organisers have confirmed that only 40 will be allowed to take part in the race that starts on 10 November 2024

The organisers also confirmed that the 40-boat limit will remain in place for the 2028 edition.

With the aim of encouraging innovation, all 13 new-build boats were automatically selected. The 26 other projects were selected on the basis of the number of miles raced since the Transat Jacques Vabre 2021.

This left three projects to choose from for the 40th place aka the ‘wild card’ to be awarded at the discretion of the organisers.

As the skipper having covered the most miles of these three campaigns Swiss sailor Oliver Heer has been selected:

“It wasn’t an easy choice, as these three skippers are extremely deserving. I consulted a number of people, including the president of the IMOCA Class and my race director. After careful consideration, I’ve decided to play the selection game and decide between them in the order of the mileage rankings, thereby respecting the rules of sport” explained Alain Leboeuf, president of the Vendée Department and the Vendée Globe.

Of the 40 qualifying skippers (44 male, six female), 11 nationalities are represented with 26 from France and 14 international entries from Great Britain (3), United States/New Zealand (1), Switzerland (2), France/Germany (1), Gemany (1), Italy (1), Hungary (1), China (1), Japan (1), Belgium (1).

Confirmed skippers

Fabrice AMEDEO (Nexans – Wewise) – FRA
Romain ATTANASIO (Fortinet – Best Western) – FRA
Yannick BESTAVEN (Maître CoQ V) – FRA
Jérémie BEYOU (Charal) – FRA
Arnaud BOISSIÈRES (La Mie Câline) – FRA
Louis BURTON (Bureau Vallée) – FRA
Conrad COLMAN (MS Amlin) – USA/NZL
Antoine CORNIC (Human Immobilier) – FRA
Manuel COUSIN (Coup de Pouce) – FRA
Clarisse CRÉMER (L’Occitane en Provence) – FRA
Charlie DALIN (MACIF Santé Prévoyance) – FRA
Samantha DAVIES (Initiatives-Cœur) – GBR
Violette DORANGE (DeVenir) – FRA
Louis DUC (Fives Group – Lantana Environnement) – FRA
Benjamin DUTREUX (GUYOT environnement – Water Family) – FRA
Benjamin FERRÉ (Monnoyeur – Duo for a Job) – FRA
Pip HARE (Medallia) – GBR
Oliver HEER (Oliver Heer Ocean Racing) – SUI
Boris HERRMANN (Malizia – Seaexplorer) – GER
Jean LE CAM (Tout commence en Finistère – Armor-lux) – FRA
Tanguy LE TURQUAIS (Lazare) – FRA
Nicolas LUNVEN (Holcim – PRB) – FRA
Sébastien MARSSET (Foussier) – FRA
Paul MEILHAT (Biotherm) – FRA
Justine METTRAUX (TeamWork – Team SNEF) – SUI
Giancarlo PEDOTE (Prysmian) – ITA
Yoann RICHOMME (Paprec Arkéa) – FRA
Alan ROURA (Hublot) – SUI
Damien SEGUIN (Groupe APICIL) – FRA
Kojiro SHIRAISHI (DMG MORI Global One) – JPN
Sébastien SIMON (Groupe Dubreuil) – FRA
Maxime SOREL (V and B – Monbana – Mayenne) – FRA
Guirec SOUDÉE ( – FRA
Denis VAN WEYNBERGH (D’Ieteren Group) – BEL
Szabolcs WEÖRES (New Europe) – HUN
Jingkun XU (Singchain Team Haikou) – CHN